Philadelphia University + Thomas Jefferson University

Department of Surgery

The Department of Surgery at Jefferson holds a unique position in the history of American medicine. Many of the field's most gifted visionaries have been faculty members, including the founder George McClellan, Samuel D. Gross of "Gross Clinic" fame and John H. Gibbon, Jr., inventor of the heart-lung machine. Read more about our history

Today, our faculty is comprised of over 50 talented clinicians and researchers, men and women at the top of their respective fields. We are dedicated to pursuing rigorous bench research, translating those findings to clinical practice and educating the next generation of surgeons.

The Jefferson Department of Surgery team

Grand Rounds Lectures

Lectures are held on Thursday mornings at 7 am in Foerderer Auditorium in the College Building (1025 Walnut Street) unless noted otherwise. Lectures are open to the Jefferson community and the public.

Most lectures are recorded and available online on the Jefferson Digital Commons.
View Recorded Lectures

Date Speaker Title
October 12, 2017 John L. Tarpley, MD, FWACS, FACS
Professor of Surgery and Anesthesiology, Emeritus
Vanderbilt University Department of Surgery & Vanderbilt Institute for Global Health
7th Annual Lady Grace Rever Osler Lecture: "Future Qaulity: The Training of the Surgeon- Revisited"
September 7, 2017 Jonathan E. Efron, MD, FACS, FASCRS
The Mark M Ravitch Professor of Surgery and Urology
Executive Vice Chair Department of Surgery
Chief of Colorectal Surgery Johns Hopkins University
6th Annual Philip E. Donahue, MD Lectureship in Benign Gastrointestinal Diseases: "Complex Perianal and Perineal Fistulas: A Look at the Past, Present, and Future."

View Lecture
June 29, 2017 Charles J. Yeo, MD, FACS
Samuel D. Gross Professor & Chair Department of Surgery
Sidney Kimmel Medical College at Thomas Jefferson University
"Department of Surgery: The Year in Review and Integration 2.0"

View More Lectures
Follow Jefferson Surgery onlineFacebookTwitterDepartment Calendar
Charles J. Yeo, MD

Charles J. Yeo, MD
Samuel D. Gross Professor & Chair,
Department of Surgery

Jonathan Brody, PhD

Jonathan Brody, PhD
Vice Chair for Research

Karen Chojnacki, MD

Karen Chojnacki, MD
Vice Chair for Education

Scott Cowan, MD

Scott Cowan, MD
Vice Chair for Quality

Francesco Palazzo, MD

Francesco Palazzo, MD
Vice Chair at Methodist

Ernest Rosato, MD

Ernest Rosato, MD
Vice Chair for Clinical Affairs


Alliric Willis, MD
Vice Chair for Faculty Affairs and Faculty Development

Read More