Philadelphia University + Thomas Jefferson University

SKMC's Council on
Diversity & Inclusion

Purpose: The purpose of the SKMC Council for Diversity and Inclusion is to enhance the diversity and inclusiveness of the medical college community, particularly the student, resident and faculty bodies. A diverse and inclusive SKMC community relates directly to our ability to achieve our missions in patient care, education and research, and to the ability of our graduates to best serve the health and health care needs of the public.

Charge: The SKMC Council for Diversity and Inclusion will, at the request of the Dean, review and assess the status and effectiveness of diversity and inclusion initiatives within the student, resident and faculty communities of SKMC and make recommendations regarding initiatives, policies, and resources needed to achieve desired outcomes. The Council may also review the SKMC curriculum, research portfolio, and Jefferson University Physicians programs or outcomes, as they relate to diversity and inclusiveness.

Meetings: The Council on Diversity and Inclusion meets a minimum of four times per year.

Mark Tykocinski, MD Dean, Sidney Kimmel Medical College 
Robert Taylor Vice President, Human Resources
Karen Novielli, MD Vice Dean, Faculty Affairs
Clara Callahan, MD Dean of Students and Admissions
Steve Herrine, MD Vice Dean, Education
David Whellan, MD Associate Dean for Clinical Research
Walter Kraft, MD Medical Director, Pharmacology and Experimental Therapeutics
Kathryn Trayes, MD Associate Dean, Student Affairs and Career Counseling
Charlie Pohl, MD Senior Associate Dean, Student Affairs and Career Counseling
Elisabeth Kunkel, MD Vice Chair for Clinical Affairs, Department of Psychiatry
Bill Keane, MD  Physician Director, Jefferson University Physicians
Gretchen Diemer, MD Associate Dean, Graduate Medical Education
Bernie Lopez, MD Associate Dean, Diversity and Community Engagement
Traci Trice, MD Assistant Dean, Diversity and Student Diversity Programs
Ted Christopher, MD Chair, Emergency Medicine
Stephen Peiper, MD Chair, Pathology, Anatomy and Cell Biology
Irwin Levitan, PhD Chair, Neurosciences
Charles Yeo, MD Chair, Surgery
Bill McNett, MD Faculty, Pediatrics
Annina Wilkes, MD Faculty, Radiology
Ed Pribitkin, MD Faculty, Otolaryngology
Steve Weinstein, PhD Faculty, Psychiatry
Jerry McCauley, MD Faculty, Nephrology
Nylah Wasti, MD Faculty, Radiology
Shruti Chandra, MD Faculty, Emergency Medicine
Tara Uhler, MD Faculty, Ophthalmology
Edward Winter, PhD Faculty, Biochemistry
Andres Fernadez, MD Faculty, Neurology
Christine Jerpbak, MD Faculty, Family and Community Medicine
Emily Stewart, MD Faculty, Internal Medicine
Fatima Syed, MD Fellow, Hematology and Oncology
Krys Foster, MD Faculty, Family and Community Medicine
Kevin Kwak, MD Resident, Internal Medicine
Sunny Lai, MD Resident, Family and Community Medicine
Elizabeth Sophy SKMC, Class of 2017
Adrian Diez SKMC, Class of 2017
Kelly Kehm SKMC, Class of 2017
Amanda Ocran SKMC, Class of 2017
Katilin McCarter SKMC, Class of 2018
Salam Beah SKMC, Class of 2018
Joseph Villavicencio SKMC, Class of 2018
Alex Rowan SKMC, Class of 2018
Kevin Guttierez SKMC, Class of 2019
Linda Magana SKMC, Class of 2019
Alexus Cooper SKMC, Class of 2019
Travis Hunt SKMC, Class of 2019

January 2015 – completion of a Diversity strengths, weaknesses, opportunities and threats analysis, development of an action plan to advance diversity and inclusion.

December 2015 – creation of non-traditional metrics to measure progress in diversity and inclusion and goals to attain.