Philadelphia University + Thomas Jefferson University

JCHP Academic Calendars 2017 - 2018

All Programs (Except Physical Therapy and Physician Assistant)

Fall Semester  
Various Orientation/Registration (Entering Class)
September 4, 2017, Monday
Labor Day Holiday
September 5, 2017, Tuesday
Welcome Date/Department Boot Camp/Orientation
September 6, Wednesday Classes Begin
September 18, Monday Last date to remove an “I” grade from previous term
September 20, Wednesday Drop/Add Period ends
October 24, Tuesday Last date to withdraw with a grade of “W”
November 6, Monday On-line Registration for Spring Semester begins (anticipated)
November 22, Wednesday Thanksgiving Holidays begin / No classes scheduled
November 25, Saturday Thanksgiving Holidays end / Classes resume
December 15, Friday Classes end
December 16, Saturday Final Examinations Begin
December 22, Friday Final Examinations End
December 27, Wednesday Grades due in Registrar’s Office, 9:00 a.m.
December 31 Last date to file Application for Graduation
Spring Semester  
January 5, 2018, Friday On-Line Registration for Spring Semester ends 
January 8, Monday Classes begin
January 15, Monday Martin Luther King Holiday/No classes scheduled
January 22, Monday Drop/Add Period ends
January 26, Friday Last date to remove an “I” grade from previous term
February 23, Friday Last date to withdraw with a grade of “W”
February 26, Monday Spring Recess begins / No classes scheduled
March 5, Monday Spring Recess ends / Classes resume
April 10, Monday On-line Registration for Summer/Fall Semester begins (anticipated)
April 27, Friday Classes end
April 30, Monday Final Examinations Begin
May 5, Saturday Final Examinations End
May 7, Monday Senior Grades due in Registrar’s Office, 9:00 a.m.
May 9, Wednesday All other grades due in Registrar's Office, 9:00a.m.
May 11, Friday On-line Registration for Summer semester ends
TBA Commencement Exercises
Summer Semester - First Session  
May 14, 2018 Monday Classes begin
May 22, Tuesday Drop/Add Period Ends
May 28, Monday Memorial Day Holiday
May 29, Tuesday Last date to withdraw with a grade of “W”
June 11, Monday Last date to remove an “I” grade from previous term
June 18, Monday Classes end
June 19, Tuesday Final Examinations Begin
June 20, Wednesday Final Examinations End
June 22, Friday Grades due in Registrar’s Office, 9:00 a.m.
Summer Semester - Second Session  
July 2, 2018 Monday Classes begin
July 12, Thursday Drop/Add Period ends
July 30, Monday Last date to withdraw with a grade of “W”
August 1, Wednesday Last date to remove an “I” grade from previous term
August 21, Tuesday Classes end
August 22, Wednesday Final Examinations Begin
August 23, Thursday Final Examinations End
August 27, Monday Grades due in Registrar’s Office, 9:00 a.m.
August 24, Friday On-line regstration for Fall Semester ends

Physical Therapy Program

Pre-Fall Semester  
May 8, 2017, Monday
Classes begin (DPT 2)
May 29, Monday Memorial Day Holiday
June 5, Monday Classes begin (DPT 3)
June 30, Friday Orientation/Registration (DPT 1)
July 5, Wednesday Classes begin (DPT 1)
July 21, Friday Classes end (DPT 2)
July 31, Monday Classes begin (DPT 2)
July 31, Monday Last date to withdraw with a grade of "W"
August 2, Wednesday Last date to remove an "I" grade from previous term
August 11, Friday
Classes end (DPT3)
August 25, Thursday
Online Classes end (DPT1)
August 31, Thursday
Grades due in Registrar’s Office, 9:00 a.m.
September 1, Friday
On-line registration for Fall semester ends
September 8, Friday PreFall Classes end (DPT 1)
September 22, Friday Classes end (DPT2)
Fall Semester  
August 28, Monday Classes begin (DPT3)
September 4, Monday Labor Day Holiday
September 11, Monday Classes begin (DPT1)
September 11, Monday Drop/Add Period ends
September 18, Monday Last date to remove an “I” grade from previous term
October 2, Monday Classes begin (DPT2)
October 14, Monday Last date to withdraw with a grade of “W”
November 6, Monday On-line Registration for Spring Semester begins (anticipated)
November 22, Wednesday Thanksgiving Holidays begin / No classes scheduled
November 25, Saturday Thanksgiving Holidays end / Classes resume
December 8, Friday Classes end (DPT2, DPT3)
December 9, Saturday Final Examinations Begin
December 15, Friday Final Examinations End
December 15, Friday Classes end (DPT1)
December 18, Monday Final Examinations Begin
December 22, Friday Final Examinations End
December 19, Tuesday Grades due in Registrar’s Office, 9:00 a.m.
December 31 Last date to file Application for Graduation
Spring Semester  
January 5, 2018, Friday On-Line Registration for Spring Semester ends 
January 8, Monday Classes begin (DPT1, DPT2, DPT3)
January 15, Monday Martin Luther King Holiday / No classes schedule
January 22, Monday Drop/Add Period ends
January 26, Friday Last date to remove an “I” grade from previous term
February 16, Friday Classes end (DPT3)
February 23, Friday Last date to withdraw with a grade of “W”
February 26, Monday Classes begin (DPT3)
February 26, Monday Spring Recess begins
March 2, Friday Classes end (DPT2)
March 5, Monday Spring Recess ends / Classes resume
March 12, Monday Classes begin (DPT2)
April 9, Monday On-line Registration for PreFall/Fall Semester begins (anticipated)
April 20, Friday Classes end (DPT1)
April 23, Monday Final Examinations begin (DPT1)
April 27, Friday Final Examinations end (DPT1)
May 4, Friday Classes end (DPT3)
May 7, Monday Senior Grades due in Registrar's Office, 9:00am
May 9, Wednesday All other grades due in Registrar's Office, 9:00am
May 12, Friday On-line Registration for PreFall Semester ends
May 25, Friday Classes end (DPT2)
TBA Commencement Exercises

Physician Assistant Program

Pre-Fall Semester  
May 31, Wednesday
Classes Begin
July 28, Friday Classes End
July 31, Monday
Finals Begin
August 4, Friday Finals End
August 11, Friday
Grades due in Registrar's Office, 9:00am
Fall Semester  
September 4, Monday Labor Day Holiday
September 5, Tuesday Classes Begin
September 19, Tuesday Drop/Add Period ends
September 19, Tuesday Last date to remove an "I" grade from previous term
October 23, Monday
Last date to withdraw with a grade of "W"
November 6, Monday Online Registration for Spreing Semester begins (anticipated)
November 22, Wednesday Thanksgiving Holidays begin/ No classes scheduled
November 25, Saturday Thanksgiving Holidays end/ Classes resume
December 15, Friday Classes End
December 16, Saturday Final Examinations Begin
December 22, Friday Final Examinations End
December 27, Wednesday Grades Due in Registrar's Office, 9:00am
December 30, Saturday Last Date to File Application for Graduation
Spring Semester  
January 5, Friday
Online Registration  for Spring Semester Ends
January 8, Monday Classes Begin
January 15, Monday
Martin Luther King Holiday/ No Classes Scheduled
January 22, Monday Drop/Add Period Ends
January 26, Friday
Last date to remove an "I" grade from previous term
February 23, Friday Last date to withdraw with a grade of "W"
February 26, Monday Spring Recess Begins/No Classes Scheduled
March 5, Monday
Spring Recess Ends/ Classes Resume
April 9, Monday Online Registration for Summer/PreFall/Fall Semester Begins (anticipated)
April 27, Friday Classes End
April 30, Monday Final Examinations Begin
May 5, Saturday Final Examinations End
May 7, Monday Senior Grades due in Registrar's Office, 9:00am
May 9, Wednesday All Other Grades due in Registrar's Office, 9:00am
May 11, Friday Online Registration for Summer Semester Ends
May 22, Monday
Commencement Exercises
Summer Semester  
May 21, Monday Classes Begin
May 28, Monday Holiday, Memorial Day
June 4, Monday Drop/Add Period Ends
June 5, Tuesday Last Date to Withdraw with a Grade of "W"
July 11, Monday Last date to remove an "I" grade from previous term
August 10, Friday Classes End
August 13, Monday Final Examinations Begin
August 22, Wednesday Final Examinations End
August 27, Monday
Grades Due in Registrar's Office, 9:00am
August 25, Friday Online Registration for Fall Semester Ends

The University reserves the right to make changes to the academic calendar as circumstances may require. Tuition is due no later than the first day of class.